Google Drive will now automatically empty your Drive trash after 30 days of the deletion of the file
Google Drive is a file storage and synchronization service developed by Google. Launched on April 24, 2012, Google Drive allows users to store files on their servers, synchronize files across devices, and share files. Google Drive also has a feature to delete your Google Drive files, move them to the trash. You can also restore your files or empty the Trash to permanently delete them. If you delete, restore, or permanently delete multiple files or folders at once, it might take time for you to notice the changes.
Till now you could restore the deleted file from the trash anytime but start from October 13, 2020, Google is changing the retention policies for items in the Trash in Google Drive. With this new policy, any file that is put into a Google Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days. Previously, trashed items would be retained indefinitely until the trash was emptied by the user.
This means any files that are already in a user’s trash on October 13, 2020, will remain there for 30 days. Soon after the 30-days of time, files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will begin to be automatically deleted. The rollout of this feature will begin on October 13th, though it could take more than 15 days to reach everyone. Users will be notified in Drive starting September 29th.
According to Google, “This change matches the policies of other G Suite products and services, such as Gmail. This will help ensure behavior is consistent and predictable for users across G Suite products and will help make sure that items users trash is actually deleted as expected.”
If you are an active user of Google Drive then keep in mind now you can recover a file only within 30 days of its deletion. For more news on tech and cybersecurity stay tuned on Android Rookies by following us on Google News.