Facebook launches new feature ‘Lock Profile’ for increasing user Privacy

0

Facebook rolls a new Feature ‘Lock Profile’ to add an extra layer of Privacy to user accounts

Facebook the social media king has over 2.6 billion monthly users all over the globe. Some users use FB for business while some for fun, but both require privacy control for their accounts. There are thousands of fake ids on Facebook that just use FB to lead misbehaving things. These account holders visit someones FB account and download their photos, videos and edit those to blackmail the target account. Some of these scammers follow someone’s check-in’s to meet them and misbehave with them later.

Facebook has now rolled a new feature known as Lock Profile after the successor of the previous privacy feature Profile Picture Guard launched 3 years ago. The new privacy feature of FB “lock profile” will allow users to protect their information on the platform from being seen by anyone who isn’t in their ‘friends’ list.

What does FB’s new privacy feature do?

The new privacy feature is basically designed to add an extra layer of privacy to the user account. When the feature is enabled no other users excluding your friend list can zoom in, share, or download profile pictures and cover photos. The feature also hides contents on your timeline for non-friends.

We are committed to providing a safe platform for people to express themselves, We are deeply aware of the concerns people in India, particularly women, have about protecting their online profile. Today, we are announcing a new feature which, in one easy step, will give people a lot more control, ensure their privacy, and keep them safe and secure online.

Ankhi Das, public policy director, Facebook India said in a statement.

How to enable the new privacy feature ‘Lock Profile’?

As this feature is new it will require some time to enroll in your devices, you can check by tapping More under your Facebook name. If you spot the Lock Profile option, then it is available for you. Select Lock Profile and then tap Lock Your Profile again to confirm.

For more updates on FB and other social media you can subscribe to our newsletter from here

Share.

About Author

Be Ready for the challenge

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments